I take my seat in the first row next
to a guy about my age. He must be further through his hangover
because he immediately nods off. The couple next to me is young with
a baby. Thank god the dude is sitting on the aisle between me and his super fine wife discouraging me from staring in her direction.
Unfortunately, our first class flight attendant is
neither doting nor smiling. Picture a bitter and grumpy Philip
Seymour Hoffman. While it is common for male flight attendants to be gay I'm not quite sure if this guy is but he
definitely has something up his ass. He can be aptly described as
deliberate in his work. And when I say deliberate I mean slow as shit.
He doesn't take our drink order until
we are already ten minutes in the air. My drunken elation is quickly
being replaced by a slow dull headache. I order a bloody Mary and
so does the guy to my left who just came to. The super fine mother tries to order a Mimosa
after her husband orders a bloody Mary and the flight attendant ridicules them both. US
Air hasn't had champagne in nearly a decade... duh.
So my first experience in first class
wasn't quite all that I dreamed it to be. Still as I sipped my
bloody Mary and stretched out in the extra wide leather seat I
smiled. So what if my fight attendant is a grouch and the flight has
already been delayed two hours? I can smile because I already ran,
albeit if it was at 2:00am PT. A run is a run... is a run.
At the end of 2011 I made three
resolutions for running. The first two were completed long before:
win a race and run a personal best at any distance. That left me
with just one to complete- run every day in 2012. Easier said than
done. What constitutes a run is the first question, which was
something I had never settled. As 2012 progressed I decided on five
miles. If misfortune or ill planning forced me to shorten the
distance than so be it. But who can argue with five miles, it is a legitimate distance.
Fast forward to December 21st,
and my five mile minimum is still intact! It is my last night in San
Francisco and I want to have some fun. After downing two apps and a
couple beers at an Irish sports pub in the financial district called
the Royal Exchange I take BART to the Mission to meet up with my
colleague and his friend. As the night progressed and we threw down
more beer it quickly became midnight and I decide, fuck it, I 'm all
in. The bars close at 2am and I throw down a couple vodka and red
bulls.
My flight schedule the next morning were as follows:
depart San Francisco at 9am PT for Charlotte, depart Charlotte and
arrive in Portland at 8pm ET. I knew that I could't risk a delayed or
canceled flight. With just over a week left I needed to snag the five
miles before I stepped on the plane. Am I going to be able to get my
drunk ass up at 6am and get it done?
I split a cab with my co-worker's
friend (who happens to also be staying at the Omni Hotel at 500 California) and some
random chick he picked up at the bar. As we get in my phone alerts
me, my first flight has been delayed two hours! In my drunken state
this seems immediately good, more time to sleep and run. But
somewhere inside of me I realize there might be a problem with the
connecting flight. I try to figure out the math but my brain is pickled.
Arriving back in my room just after
2am PT I decide there is only one safe bet. Run right then. I am
very drunk but not totally wasted (if that makes any sense). I throw
on my shoes, shorts and a t-shirt and head out on the Embarcadero for
a 5 mile out and back that I have mapped out.
A mile in I realize that the pace is
slow. When I say slow I mean, snail pace, probably 9 min/mi. I hit the
accelerator slowly until I am satisfied I must be running under eight
minute pace. I can't say this is the first time I have run drunk but
never as long as five miles. It seems so far but I press
on. I reach the turn around point and even
add a little. As I speed back down the Embarcadero I am within a
mile of the hotel when it hits me. I double over in the bushes and
puke. I wait no more than a few seconds and then continue back, the
nausea is gone as quickly as it arrived, thank god.
Why am I running at least five miles
every day for an entire year? Partly to say I am a bad ass, yes.
But part of me wants to disprove the whole day off thing. What are
days off anyway? You walk every day, why not run every day?
What can I conclude from all this? I
am bat shit crazy- check. I am lucky I just puked once- check.
Crazy goals take crazy methods- also check. After flying into Boston
I take a bus to Portland and arrive just after 1am ET on Saturday.
If I had waited I would have blown it. I have lived to run another
day with the streak intact.
No comments:
Post a Comment